The Last Hurdle

I finished my IOE. Luckily most of what I was doing on this aircraft was identical in every way to what I did on the last aircraft I worked on. Other than being delayed and getting done in Cincinnati around 3am yesterday and having to arrive in to Houston at 12am it wasn’t bad, just exhausting. At least my crew was nice and the weather was cooperative. That was the last hurdle. Initial training is done.

Now I just get to sit around for 5 days until graduation.  Deborah, another former flight attendant from my previous airline, and I are going to hit up Loving hut. I was surprised there was one in Houston. In case I haven’t mentioned it, Loving hut is a vegan restaurant chain. There are surprisingly quite a few of them. Other than that nothing too exciting planned for the rest of my time, probably be staying in mostly because it’s supposed to hit triple digits this week in Texas. Texas, the only place that has ever made me miss New Jersey…It’s been an interesting place for this liberal vegan I guess the last week here won’t kill me. provided it cools down at night ,I might get another few runs in. I discovered a running trail not long after arriving and having a regular schedule has allowed me to run quite a bit. I also eat a lot healthier when I dine alone. I’m not sure why but I seriously eat far less sugar and consume fewer calories when I eat alone or prepare a meal only for myself. I’m anxious to get back home and jump on my scale. I think I’ve lost at least 10 pounds this month.

                                                        IMG_0578

I’m relieved to have finally finished training but my time here has allotted me a lot of time to think, which is always a dangerous thing. I think over the next 6 months or so I’m going to have to make some difficult decisions. There are things I need to improve/change. I turn 30 in August and at some foolish younger age I decided that would be my deadline to have most of my shit together by. Anyways it’s put my psyche in to red alert and all this regular routine bullshit has afforded me time to reflect and examine key elements of my life, usually when I’m flying the line I have no idea what’s going on. One thing I have managed to do is get my self a introductory flight lesson. They had a great deal on groupon and all I have to do is schedule it when I get back. So I can at least hopefully make up my mind about my career or at least narrow my options. I look forward to a future where I have most of the things I want in life and I don’t feel so overwhelmed.

About Jonotron

Read and find out
This entry was posted in Running, Vegan, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment